Desert Island

This idea came from Ann at Marmalade and Catmint.  She is a sweet dear person who blogs about gardening, recipes and pictures of Yorkshire plus a bit of bargain hunting. Her husband listens to this podcast about Desert Island.  Anyone know it?


If I were stranded on a desert Island, the music, the one book and one luxury item I would take are the following:


Tunes I would take with me (along with a lot of batteries) to a Desert Island are:


September Morn by Neil Diamond – I can listen to this song over and over again. I am a big Neil Diamond fan and have seen him in concert three times – that would not be recently. Being a very romantic song, I think of when I was 21 and very much in love.

 Young Neil singing Cracklin Rosie
Neil now

Boot Scootin Boogie by Brook & Dunne – I started listening to country music when I was 18. My friend Maurine and I used to switch radio stations back and forth from rock to country.  She finally won me over. Every time I hear this song, I want to dance.

Ronnie and Kicks

Cristofori’s Dream by David Lantz – When my daughter learned to play this soulful son on the piano, I fell in love with it.


Mai by Josh Groban – My daughter said that she wanted his CD for Christmas back in 2005.  She had to write his name down so I could remember it because I had never heard of him.  Now, I absolutely positively adore his music.

Where did Josh get such a fantasic voice? Is he Italian? Did you know he sung in Portuguese? 



Love Can Build a Bridge by the Judds – I saw the Judds sing in Salt Lake City 30 years ago – their music filled me with warmth and yearning. When they first started out, I was boogieing and feeling the groove at concerts and dancing every week. I adored International folk dancing and boy could I cut a rug.

Back when they first started singing, we were all asking “Which one is the daughter?”


Blue Kentucky Girl by Loretta Lynn – Back to my country music roots – she was one of the best ever. Memories float back my first brand new hot off the assembly line car in 1970. This song has banjo accompaniment in it and I tried to learn to play the banjo. The problem was that I didn’t have an ear for music.

She had a style and way of belting a song out all of her own.  I am still crazy about her music.  Patsy Cline tugged at my heart strings too.


Mona Lisa by Nat King Cole – Even though this song goes back to the 50’s, I just still adore it. When his daughter Natalie Cole used new technology to sing with her dad – it was outstanding.

He died so young – just think of the music he could have made if he had lived longer.


I Can’t Help Falling In Love by Elvis – this is only one song that I love – I can listen to Elvis sing anything.

I remember him when he was young and I remember him as he grew older.  Like all of us, as you past 40, keeping your weight down becomes a problem.


The book I would take since you are not allowed to take the Bible is War and Peace – It takes a long time to get through and I would struggle again to read it once more.


Luxury item: Only being able to take one – now that is hard but I what would I miss of all things – toilet paper. How much we all take for granted the items in our daily lives.  In my grandmother’s era, they did not have tampax or Kotex, she used a bundled rag and then they had to wash them.  It makes me cringe at the thought.

6 thoughts on “Desert Island

  1. Jo

    My dad is a big Neil Diamond fan, I grew up hearing his music being played and I enjoy it too. Can't Help Falling In Love by Elvis was the song we had our first dance to at our wedding reception.

    Reply
  2. Marilyn

    The music is beautiful …..This is a very thought provoking post.The music I would take is Mozart & Yanni….Books would be writings by Billy Graham ….The luxury??? SOAP & SHAMPOO! ! !LOL!!Can't stand dirty!!Have a Great Day!!Marilyn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

