Things I’ve Done

This postcard was sent to my grandmother Clarissa from my grandfather J Roy on May 8, 1913, one year before they were married.



I have to live with myself, and so
I want to be fit for myself to know;
I want to be able as days go by
Always to look myself straight in the eyes
I don’t want to stand with the setting sun
And hate myself for the things I’ve done.


I don’t want to keep on a closet shelf
A lot of secrets about myself,
And fool myself as I come and go.
Into thinking that nobody else will know
The kind of woman I really am;
I don’t want to dress myself up in sham.


I want to go out with my head erect,
I want to deserve all men’s respect;
But here in the struggle for fame and Pelf,
I want to be able to like myself.
I don’t want to think as I come and go
That I’m bluster and bluff and empty show.


By Oka

4 thoughts on “Things I’ve Done

  1. NanaDiana

    What a sweet postcard he sent her. That is in the book of Best Loved American Poems. I love it and have since the first time I read it- xo Diana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

