Rhubarb Pie

I’ve been to at least four grocery stores looking for Spelt Bread.  So why are all the stores out of it? Have you ever heard of it?  I found this bread a couple of years ago when I had couldn’t eat wheat, corn and other foods that did not agree with my system.  I continue to buy it because I like the flavor and it gives me a variety in my diet.  It seems we all eat too much wheat and corn. 


Okay, I found Spelt flour and I am gonna try to make my own loaf of bread – we shall see!  I am not the best cook around the camp fire!  

I love red rhubarb but beggars can’t be choosey; my neighbor gave me a start of her green rhubarb which doesn’t turn red.  My plant was about 4 feet tall when I got home from California so I decided to make Rhubarb Pie only I didn’t find any strawberries to go with it so I sat down to search the ubiquitous internet for recipes. I found one that was intriguing – Rhubarb pineapple pie and did it turn out?  Yes, it was delicious!  I have to stop myself from having more than one piece. 

Now don’t critique my pie crust because I don’t make pie crust; I buy it frozen. 

I have to admit that when I was just a young en, I liked rhubarb raw or any way I could get it. One day I ate so much of it that I lost my sense of taste for four days.


This is my view from my patio. All of the flowers and shrubs belong to my neighbor. They plant flowers every year while I get to enjoy the flowers more than they do.
8 thoughts on “Rhubarb Pie

  1. June

    I used to eat rhubarb raw as well! The thought now makes me shudder! I love rhubarb crumble with custard – especially when the weather gets colder, a real comfort food!June

    Reply
  2. Cranberry Morning

    I'd never criticize the crust. It looks delicious to me! And I've never bought spelt bread, although I considered it. Instead, I went gluten free and buy Udi's or Food For Life bread.Love rhubarb, and your post reminded me that I need to get mine transplanted. So many trees have grown up around it now that it's too shaded to do well.

    Reply
  3. Jane and Chris

    I've not seen spelt bread here but the bulk store sells spelt flour. We have either kamut or spelt pasta (yummy and healthy).I love rhubarb..rhubarb and apple is a favourite combination. I think this year's drought killed off our rhubarb though.Jane x

    Reply
  4. Susan

    Hi Ruth….I never heard of rhubarb pineapple pie. Glad it came out well. My son asked for strawberry rhubarb pie for his birthday present. What I need to do now is scout out some rhubarb..it's kind of gone by.Yes, I've heard of spelt bread. There's a store locally that sells it, plus lots of other varieties of bread. Never tried it myself. I love oatmeal bread.Fattening, though.Glad you stopped by and commented, too. Susan

    Reply
  5. Anne

    Hi Ruth, I'm not sure what spelt bread is. I do love bread and I'm sure we eat too much of it. The tablets I'm taking for my migraine preventation apparently interfere with processing carbs so I suppose I should be eating far less anyway.As for rhubarb, love rhubarb, we used to eat the stalks raw dipped in a bag of sugar when we were kids! Prefer it cooked though nowadays.

    Reply
  6. Jo

    I've recently bought a rhubarb crown so I'm hoping that I'll be able to make my own rhubarb pies soon. How lovely that your neighbours plant up their garden so beautifully, you get to enjoy some wonderful colour.

    Reply
  7. Rosie

    I'm lucky that Paul makes all our bread and he experiments with different kinds of flour including Spelt – see my blog sidebar for a link to his bread pages, I quite like the nutty taste of bread made with all or part Spelt flour. I remember eating raw rhubarb when I was a child – like it in a crumble with custard now. Your pie looks delicious:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

